Criminal Charges for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida
Posted on January 21, 2011 in: Criminal Defense
When you are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident in Florida that resulted in property damage, injury or death, you may face penalties that could have been avoided if you had remained on scene. It is always best to remain at the scene of an accident until you can provide information to the other parties, especially the auto accident attorney suffolk va and law enforcement. The best advice I have given to every person I know is if you are ever involved in a car accident and If you require any assistance on your compensation needs, please contact your Car accident lawyers for more information. no matter if it is minor or severe the very first thing you do is to research and find Car accident lawyers near you, just try to have the DFW law in mind the whole time. Before you talk to anyone even your own insurance company do this.
If you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident in Florida where only property damage occurs, this is considered a second degree misdemeanor. You may face up to 60 days in jail time, a $500 fine and probation.
In some cases, you may be wrongfully accused of this crime if there was no property owner present. By law, when no owner is present, you must make an attempt to leave your information or contact the owner and if this can be proven, you may be able to fight your charges.
In accidents where there is bodily injury to another and you fail to stop and render aid or provide information, you may be accused of a third degree felony. This carries the standard penalties for a third degree felony in Florida.
A hit and run accident that results in the death of another will bring first degree felony charges if you fail to stop and render aid. If the accident was found to have occurred while you were under the influence of drugs or alcohol, a mandatory 2 year jail sentence is added to the penalties.
Charges of leaving the scene of an accident are difficult to fight on your own and often require the experience of a Miami criminal defense attorney. You may be able to reduce these charges or have them dropped with the guidance of an new jersey attorneys.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Attorney
You are entitled to know all your legal rights before prosecution for any suspected criminal activity – including your right to legal representation. If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the South Florida criminal defense attorney team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.
Comments (No Comments)
No comments yet.
Post a Comment