Definition of Petit Theft under Florida Law
Posted on February 28, 2012 in: Petit Theft/Grand Theft
Being charged with a crime, such as a theft in Florida, can not only be overwhelming, but also confusing and frustrating. A team of Miami defense lawyers may be able to help.
Florida law defines petit theft as when a person knowingly obtains or utilizes the property of another with the purpose to:
- deprive that person of that property;
- deprive that person of the benefit of that property; or
- knowingly takes it for their own.
The language points out that even temporarily taking something else can constitute theft.
The theft of any goods or property worth less than $100 is second-degree petit theft, a second-degree misdemeanor with a maximum jail sentence of 60 days and a fine of $500.
First-degree petit theft, a first-degree misdemeanor, is defined as theft in which the stolen property is worth between $100 and $299. The maximum sentence for a conviction of first-degree petit theft is 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000.
However, in instances in which the defendant has already been twice convicted of theft, he or she will be given a third-degree felony charge instead of a first-degree misdemeanor. The maximum sentence becomes 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
If you’ve been charged with theft in Florida, reach out to a team of Miami defense lawyers who are prepared to defend your rights and hold the prosecution responsible for establishing proof beyond a reasonable doubt.
Contacting Miami Defense Lawyers
Being arrested for theft in Florida is no joke. If you have been charged with a crime in Miami, your defense lawyers are your best support network. The defense team you choose to represent you in court, defend your rights, and relentlessly pursue your case could be the difference between jail time and getting on with your life. Contact the Miami defense lawyers at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.
Comments (No Comments)
No comments yet.
Post a Comment