I was charged with a theft crime and the victim was 65 or older, what are the penalties?
Posted on April 13, 2011 in: Fraud
The age of the victim when you are charged with theft in Florida can drastically alter your case. You may be charged with theft from the elderly if the victim is aged 65 or older. If you or a loved one is put in this situation you should contact a Miami theft attorney for advice on how to proceed with defending against your criminal charges.
The Florida statutes state that theft from the elderly can be charged when the victim is age 65 or older. The normal penalties when you are charged with theft in Florida are increased under this measure. You may face additional restitutions to the victim and also be required to perform up to 500 hours of community service.
When you are charged with theft in Florida and it is classified as theft from the elderly, the classification of the crime also changes.
This reclassification is determined by the value of assets taken from the victim as follows:
- Amounts between $300 and $10,000 – 3rd degree felony.
- Amounts between $10,000 and $50,000 – 2nd degree felony.
- Amounts over $50,000 – 1st degree felony.
Because these penalties are increased, you shouldn’t gamble with your fate by waiving your right to legal representation. An experienced Miami theft attorney can help you fight these charges.
Contacting a Miami Theft Attorney
Florida criminal defense cases are taken very seriously. Don’t leave your future solely in the hands of the court. The Miami theft attorneys at Falk & Ross Law Firm know the importance of a solid defense in your case and we will fight for your rights every step of the way. Contact us today – 1-877-663-5110.
Comments (No Comments)
No comments yet.
Post a Comment