If I was charged with a sex crime, what happens if I fail to register as a sex offender in Florida?
Posted on November 10, 2010 in: Rape
If you have been convicted as a Florida sex offender, you will be required to register in the state as a sex offender. The failure to do so will carry serious criminal penalties that may include a fine, jail time, and several years of probation.
According to Florida law, an individual who fails to register as a Florida sex offender can be charged with a third-degree felony and, in some instances, a second-degree felony.
Registration requirements for a Florida sex offender include:
- registration within 48 hours of being released from custody;
- registration within 48 hours of relocating to a new address;
- registration of your address of residence;
- registration of your place of employment, or your enrollment in an institution of higher learning; and
- registration with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
A felony conviction in Florida may be punishable by more than 1 year in prison. A third-degree felony is punishable by up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation, and a $5,000 fine. A second-degree felony is punishable by up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation, and a $10,000 fine.
If you have been charged with failing to register as a Florida sex offender, you should get the professional help of a Miami criminal defense lawyer. A Miami criminal defense lawyer can investigate your case, and explain your legal options for fighting the charge.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – (877) 663-5110
Comments (No Comments)
No comments yet.
Post a Comment