Leaving the Scene of an Accident in a Florida Hit and Run
Posted on January 14, 2011 in: Criminal Defense
Leaving the scene of an accident results in a Florida hit and run charge, which may be very difficult to fight in court if you do not have an experienced Miami criminal defense attorney on your side. Florida Statutes have specific penalties for drivers who are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident in Florida and without the help of a Miami criminal defense attorney, you may face additional jail time and fines. The fines and jail time differ for motorcycle hit and run to find out more information on this visit https://maylandaccident.com/motorcycle-accident/
Two Types of Accidents – Property Damage and Injury
The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in Florida will vary in severity depending on who and what is involved. An accident that only causes property damage to a vehicle or other property is only considered a second degree misdemeanor and carries a $500 fine, up to 60 days in county jail and/or 6 months probation.
With property damage accidents, it is your duty as the at-fault driver to notify the property owner and give your name, address, vehicle registration and license information. If you are involved in an accident in Florida where no property owner is present, you must be able to show proof that you attempted to leave such information for the owner. When you are accused with failure to provide this information, a Miami criminal defense attorney may be able to help argue your compliance with this requirement.
The more common instance of a Florida hit and run charge is when the accident results in injury or death. When you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident and failing to render aid and information, you are in turn accused of violating Florida Statutes, which require you to remain on scene until law enforcement tells you it is okay to leave.
The penalties for a Florida hit and run with injury or death are much more severe than the charges you would normally face had you stayed on site. Leaving the scene of an accident in Florida that involves injury is a third degree felony, even if the injuries were not life-threatening, while an accident resulting in death is increased to a first degree felony with a mandatory 2-year jail sentence if also convicted of DUI.
Fighting Hit and Run Charges
A Florida hit and run conviction is no simple matter, especially when it involves an injury or fatal accident. When you face criminal charges for leaving the scene of an accident in Florida, you should consult with a Miami criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
It may be possible to fight the charges of a Florida hit and run if you can prove you had a legitimate reason to leave the scene. There are many ways to fight these charges and an experienced Miami criminal defense attorney will be able to explain all of your options.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Attorney
You have the right to a Miami criminal defense attorney during the proceedings following your arrest in Florida. If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense attorney team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.
Comments (No Comments)
No comments yet.
Post a Comment