What is the basis of a grand theft charge in Florida?
Posted on February 13, 2013 in: Petit Theft/Grand Theft
A grand theft charge in Florida generally is based on the value of the property and applies to property valued at $300 or more. However, the type of property also may be a factor. Theft charges such as these, or theft against the elderly, are considered more serious and carry more significant penalties.
Degrees of Grand Theft Charges in Florida
The least serious level of a grand theft charge is third degree. It can include property valued anywhere between $300 and $20,000. Meanwhile, theft of motor vehicles and firearms constitute third-degree grand theft as well.
A second-degree grand theft charge can apply to property valued at less than $100,000 but more than $20,000 or shipping cargo valued at less than $50,000. It also applies to stolen medical or law enforcement equipment valued at greater than $300.
Finally, a first-degree charge applies to property valued between $20,000 and $100,000, or shipping cargo worth more than $50,000. Causing property damage of greater than $1,000 during the course of the crime also may warrant first-degree charges.
Penalties for Grand Theft Charges
Grand theft charges are serious and could result in jail time and payment of fines. Those guilty of first-degree grand theft could spend as much as 30 years in prison and pay fines up to $10,000.
Those guilty of a second-degree crime could face as many as 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. Meanwhile, those guilty of a third-degree crime could face up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Contacting Criminal Defense Lawyers
If you’re facing charges, consult a criminal defense lawyer at Falk & Ross inMiami. We can work with you to go over the circumstances of the incident and work on building a case against your grand theft charges.
Comments (No Comments)
No comments yet.
Post a Comment