Penalties for Florida DUI Causing Bodily Harm and Death
If your Florida DUI causes the bodily harm or death of another person, then your penalties will increase significantly.
Injury to another person will result in a first degree misdemeanor, imprisonment for up to 1 year, and a fine of up to $1,000. Causing “serious bodily harm” will result in a third degree felony, and the penalties will be increased.
Causing the death of another person will result in a second degree felony, imprisonment for up to 15 years, and a fine of up to $10,000. Causing the death of another person, and failing to render aid, is a first degree felony, which will result in imprisonment for up to 30 years, and a fine of up to $10,000.
Probation and the DUI Program
Anyone convicted of a DUI in Florida will face probation and The DUI Program. Probation includes a minimum of 50 hours of community service, as well as impoundment or immobilization of their vehicle. These penalties will increase depending on the severity of the DUI offense.
The DUI Program is a course run by the Department of Motor Vehicles. This may cost an additional fee of up to $1,000. The course includes a psychological evaluation, and a state-certified DUI school. Failure to complete the course will result in a loss of driving privileges.
How can a Miami DUI defense attorney help?
An experienced Miami DUI defense attorney know how to correctly question evidence, police procedures, and even sobriety and blood alcohol tests to help you beat or reduce your Florida DUI charges. Attorneys that do not have experience with Florida DUI cases won’t know how Florida DUIs are dealt with in court and cannot build a solid DUI defense for your case.
The penalties for DUI in Florida are severe. Don’t leave your future solely in the hands of the court. The Miami DUI defense attorneys at Falk & Ross Law Firm know the importance of a solid defense in your drunk driving case and we will fight for your rights every step of the way. Contact us today – 1-877-663-5110.