If you have been convicted of your second Florida DUI, whether or not you may obtain a hardship license will depend on the timing of your offenses. If your second offense did not occur within 5 years of your previous conviction, your driver’s license will be revoked from a minimum of 180 days to a maximum of 1 year. In this case, you will not be allowed to obtain a hardship license.
If you are facing your 2nd set of DUI charges it is important to find an attorney right away. Call Falk & Ross, P.A. at 866-663-5110 for a consultation now or contact us online. The penalties for a 2nd DUI are serious and should be avoided.
To reinstate your license under these conditions, you must complete the entire revocation period.
If, however, your second Florida DUI occurred within 5 years of your previous Florida DUI, your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 5 years. In this case, you may apply for a hardship license after serving 1 year of your revocation period. To obtain a hardship license, you will need to complete any required DUI school and treatment, and receive a favorable recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program.
If you do receive the favorable approval, you may present it to the driver’s license office and request a hardship license. To fulfill the requirements for your hardship license, and submit your formal request, you can get the professional help of a Miami DUI defense attorney.
To learn more about penalties for a second DUI conviction in Florida, please visit our article library.
Contacting a Miami DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami DUI defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.