Florida’s Move Over Law helps protect emergency personnel who respond to roadside incidents. If you’re not careful when approaching an incident on the roadway, you may find yourself facing charges of a noncriminal violation and fines. A Broward County traffic defense attorney can help defend you against these charges and make sure your legal rights are enforced.
What Is Florida’s Move Over Law?
Emergency responders, such as police officers, firefighters or paramedics, must leave their vehicles to attend to traffic situations on the side of the road, therefore putting them at a higher risk of being struck by traffic. To reduce the number of serious and fatal injuries suffered by emergency responders, semi truck accident lawyer chicago il developed Florida’s Move Over Law.
The Move Over Law requires all drivers to exercise caution when passing by an emergency vehicle with active signals. This can be done in several ways, depending on the nature of the roadway you’re on. For 2-lane roads you must slow to 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit while passing by the incident area.
If you’re on a multiple-lane roadway, you have several options to comply with Florida’s Move Over Law. If it’s safe to do so, the preferred method of compliance is to vacate the lane closest to the stopped emergency vehicle until you’ve passed the incident. If you’re unable to change lanes, you must then slow down to 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit.
Penalties for Violating Florida’s Move Over Law
If you’re issued a citation for violating Florida’s Move Over Law, you should bring the notice to aBrowardCountytraffic defense attorney. There’s a strict procedure to follow in resolving a citation for this violation, and missing a step or delaying action could result in further penalties.
If you contact a Broward County traffic defense attorney within a timely manner, he or she will be able to review your case and advise you on how to proceed. You must respond to the citation or face charges of a 2nd degree misdemeanor. If you don’t elect to appear at your requested hearing appointment, you’ll accept the civil penalty and fee of $30.
If you elect to appear at your hearing, your Broward County traffic defense attorney can accompany you to support your defense. If additional charges are brought against you or you feel you’re being unfairly treated in your conviction, your Broward County traffic defense attorney will help protect your rights.