If you have been charged with a misdemeanor crime in Florida, you may face jail time and/or fines, depending on the degree of your charge and other factors unique to your case.
According to Florida criminal guidelines, the 2 classifications of misdemeanors and their penalties include:
- Misdemeanor of the first degree – punishable by no more than one year in jail, one year of probation and a $1,000 fine.
- Misdemeanor of the second degree – punishable by no more than 60 days in jail, 6 months of probation and a $500 fine.
A variety of crimes can be classified as misdemeanors. You’ll want to talk with a Miami criminal defense lawyer to see if your misdemeanor charge will be classified as first or second degree, to get a better idea of the penalties you may face.
Some common misdemeanors in Florida include:
- disorderly conduct;
- possession of marijuana;
- driving with a suspended license;
- domestic violence; and
- possession of alcohol by a minor.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in Florida, you’ll want to know the Florida criminal guidelines, so you can get a better idea of what’s at stake in your case. To learn about the specific penalties for felonies and misdemeanors in Florida, you can contact a Miami criminal defense lawyer. A criminal defense lawyer can also investigate your case and may find ways to beat your Florida misdemeanor charge.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are facing misdemeanor charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.