If you have been convicted as a Florida sex offender, there are specific issues that you will need to address in order to avoid further consequences. One of the most important things that you will need to do is register as a Florida sex offender. If you have been charged with failing to register as a Florida sex offender, you can get the legal help of a Miami criminal defense lawyer.
Registering as a Florida Sex Offender
When convicted as a Florida sex offender, you will be subject to many different forms of mandatory registration.
Registration requirements for a Florida sex offender include:
- mandatory registration within 48 hours of release from custody;
- mandatory registration within 48 hours of relocation to a new address;
- mandatory registration of address of residence;
- mandatory registration of employment or enrollment at an institution of higher learning; and
- mandatory registration with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
The failure to register as a Florida sex offender can lead to a third degree felony charge. In some cases, the failure to register can lead to a second degree felony charge. A conviction of these charges can result in fines, jail time and years of probation. Additionally, failure to register will be added to your criminal record.
To register as a Florida sex offender, you must provide registration information to the Department of Corrections (DC) or the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ). These departments will provide your registration information to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE).
If you are employed or enrolled at an institution of higher learning, your registration information must include:
- your enrollment and employment status;
- the name, address and county of each institution;
- each campus that you have attended; and
- each change in enrollment or employment status, including a change in location of either.
If you are not under the supervision of the DC or DJJ, you must initially register in person at the Florida Sheriff’s Office.
Verifying Your Address
Once a Florida sex offender registers their address, the address will be verified by a state agency. This may be done by the DC, a local Sheriff’s Office or a local Police Department.
Reporting a Change of Address
To report a change of address as a Florida sex offender, you must report in person to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). As stated above, this must be done within 48 hours of the change of address. If the change of address is permanent, you must request a new driver’s license.
If you vacate your permanent residence and fail to establish a new permanent or temporary residence, you must report to the Sheriff’s Office within 48 hours of the change. At the Sheriff’s Office, you will be required to specify the date upon which you vacated your former residence, as well as update your registration information. You will also be required to provide the location at which you will be staying.
Reporting to the Sheriff’s Office
As a Florida sex offender, you will be required to report to the Sheriff’s Office either bi-annually or quarterly, based upon your registration requirements. A failure to do so can also result in charges by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
If you face charges for the failure to register or report as a Florida sex offender, a Miami criminal defense lawyer may be able help. Anytime you are charged with a criminal offense, it is always a good idea to speak to an experienced Miami criminal defense lawyer to learn about your options to fight the charges against you.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case –1-877-663-5110.