A DUI in Florida is considered a serious crime. Even a first offense can have damaging repercussions that can affect your entire life from your ability to drive and even future employment opportunities. If you are convicted you may face fines, license suspensions, and the possibility of time in jail. To fight your Florida DUI charge, you can get the help of a Miami DUI defense attorney.
Here are some of the penalties and consequences for a first offense DUI in Florida.
First DUI Offense Penalties
If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida for the first time, your penalties may include:
- A fine of between $250 and $500;
- Imprisonment for up to 6 months, with no mandatory minimum; and
- License revocation for between 180 days and 1 year.
If your blood alcohol level registers greater than .20 in a blood, breath, or urine test, then your DUI penalties will increase. In this case, they will include:
- A fine of between $500 and $1000;
- Imprisonment for up to 9 months, with no mandatory minimum;
- License revocation for between 180 days and 1 year; and
- A mandatory ignition interlock system on all cars you routinely drive.
A first DUI conviction in Florida will also include:
- Probation, which may not exceed 1 year;
- A minimum 50 hours of community service, or a fine of $10 for each hour of community service required; and
- Impoundment of your vehicle for 10 days.
If your Florida DUI causes another person bodily harm, then you will be charged with a first degree misdemeanor. You will face a fine of up to $1000 or a 1 year prison term.
If your DUI in Florida causes another person serious bodily injury, then you will be charged with a third degree felony. You will face a fine of up to $5000 or a 5 year prison term.
If your Florida DUI results in another person’s death, then you will be charged with a second degree felony. You will face a fine of up to $10,000 and a 15 year prison term.
You may receive additional fines and penalties for leaving the scene of an incident.
Continue to Next Page >>