A DUI in Florida is a serious criminal charge that can result in severe and life-changing penalties. Penalties for a DUI in Florida may include:
- a fine;
- time in jail;
- community service hours;
- a DUI program and counseling;
- a conviction on your criminal record; and
- a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
DU penalties like these can affect your career, your finances, and have an impact on your personal life. Before pleading guilty to a DUI in Florida, especially if this is not your first DUI charge, you should get the professional advice of a lawyer. With the help of a South Florida DUI defense lawyer, you may be able to avoid a fourth Florida DUI conviction.
Penalties for a Fourth DUI in Florida
If you are convicted of a fourth DUI in Florida, you will have been found guilty of a third-degree felony. This carries penalties that include:
- a fine of not less than $2,000, and not more than $5,000;
- not more than a 5-year prison sentence;
- a mandatory revocation of your driver’s license; and
- a conviction on your permanent criminal record.
Having your License Reinstated after a Fourth DUI in Florida
To reinstate your driver’s license after a fourth DUI in Florida, you must serve 10 years of your revocation period before applying for a hardship license. To receive a hardship license after a fourth DUI in Florida, you must complete the DUI Program, and have a favorable recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program. If your driver’s license reinstatement is approved, you will have to present this approval to the driver’s license office.
If your reinstatement is approved, at the time of reinstatement, you will be required to take an examination and pay an administrative fee, a revocation reinstatement fee, and any required license fee. To retain your hardship license after a fourth DUI in Florida, you will have to remain in the Special Supervision Services Program.
The DUI Program in Florida
The DUI Program is a course run by the Department of Motor Vehicles. This may cost an additional fee of up to $1,000. The course includes a psychological evaluation, and a state-certified DUI school. If you fail to complete the course, you will not be allowed to receive a hardship license.
The Ignition Interlock System
To receive a hardship license after a fourth DUI in Florida, you will have to participate in the ignition interlock program for a minimum of 5 years. In this program, an ignition interlock device will be installed inside your vehicle. By measuring the alcohol content of your breath, this device will prevent you from starting your car if alcohol is detected.
The costs of the ignition interlock system currently are:
- $12 interlock fee;
- $70 fee for installation;
- $65.70 for monthly monitoring and calibration; and
- a $100 refundable deposit, or a $5 monthly insurance charge.
Fourth DUI in Florida that Results in Bodily Harm or Death
If your fourth DUI in Florida results in the injury or death of another person, you will face further penalties and fines based on the specifics of the accident. To learn more about these penalties, or to learn about how you may defend such a charge, you can consult with a South Florida DUI defense lawyer.
Contacting a South Florida DUI Defense Lawyer
If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the South Florida DUI defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – (877) 663-5110.