If you have recently been charged with a Florida DUI, and it was your second offense, you will face stiffer license revocation penalties than for your first Florida DUI. In this case, your penalties will depend on how recently you received your first DUI conviction. If you have questions regarding license revocation penalties for a second DUI offense, or if you want to fight your Florida DUI charge, you can get the professional advice of a Florida DUI defense attorney.
Revocation Penalty for a Second Florida DUI
If you have been charged with a second Florida DUI offense that is not within 5 years of a previous DUI conviction, you will face a 180-day to 1-year revocation of your administrative driver’s license. In this case, you will not be permitted to obtain a hardship license. Before you can have your driver’s license reinstated, you must complete the revocation period.
If you have been charged with a second Florida DUI offense within 5 years of a previous DUI conviction, you will face a minimum 5-year revocation of your administrative driver’s license. In this case, you may apply for a hardship license after serving 1 year of your revocation period. To receive a hardship license, you will have to complete the DUI School and treatments that are required by the court.
You must also receive a favorable recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program to receive your hardship license. If you are able to obtain this favorable recommendation, you must submit this approval to the DMV. You can enlist the aid of a Florida DUI defense attorney to help in the effort to obtain the necessary approval and submit it properly to the driver’s license office.
Continue to Next Page >>