A hit and run in Florida is a serious criminal charge. If you hit someone with your vehicle, and then leave the scene of the accident, a conviction can result in fines, time in jail, and a permanent criminal record. The penalties will depend on the amount of damage that the hit and run accident caused.
If you have been charged with a hit and run in South Florida, you should get the professional help of a Miami criminal defense lawyer. An experienced lawyer may find ways to beat or reduce your Florida hit and run charge.
Penalties for a Hit and Run in Florida
When you are involved in a motor vehicle accident in Florida, the law states that you must stop and exchange your contact information. Furthermore, if someone has been injured in the accident, you must help them get medical attention. Failure to do so is a criminal offense, and you could be charged with either a misdemeanor or felony.
If you are charged with a hit and run in Florida, in which you left the scene of an accident after causing property damage, then you will face a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in county jail, and a fine of up to $500.
If you are charged with a hit and run in Florida, in which you left the scene of an accident after causing someone’s injury, you will face a third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in state prison, and a fine of up to $5,000.
If you are charged with a hit and run in Florida, in which you left the scene of an accident after causing someone’s death, you will face a first degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in state prison, and a fine of up to $10,000. You will have to consult your construction injury attorney bronx ny for more information.
Because a hit and run in Florida is such a serious criminal offense, you will need legal representation if you want to fight your charges. Therefore, you should contact a Miami criminal defense lawyer immediately after the accident. A Miami criminal defense lawyer can investigate your case and explain which criminal defenses may apply.
Other Penalties After a Hit and Run in Florida
Besides the criminal penalties that were already mentioned, a hit and run in Florida can result in:
- a suspension of your driver’s license;
- community service hours;
- drug and alcohol counseling; and
- a civil action by the injured party.
Additionally, if you are convicted of a hit and run in Florida, your criminal record may affect you in many ways. For instance, when you apply for a job in the United States, your application may be denied because of the conviction on your criminal record. The same may happen when you apply for a loan, or to rent a new apartment. By the way if you’re looking for a loan service who offers cash quickly, look for forbrukslån loans.
But with a Miami criminal defense lawyer working on your side, you may avoid the penalties of a damaging criminal conviction. An experienced attorney may find ways to have your case dismissed. If there was a procedural error with your arrest, or certain evidence is deemed inadmissible, a court may be unable to find you guilty of a hit and run.
On the other hand, if you are guilty of a hit and run in Florida, then a Miami criminal defense lawyer may have your charge reduced. By negotiating a plea bargain, your felony charge may be changed to a misdemeanor. Furthermore, a Miami criminal defense lawyer can negotiate your penalties, which may help to lower your fines, avoid time in jail, and keep your driving privileges in some circumstances.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida related to hit and run charges, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – (877) 663-5110.