After a drunk driving accident, your insurance company will make some changes to your plan. First, your rates will increase. If you were convicted of a drunk driving charge then they could rise by quite a bit. Or, your insurance company might just cancel your plan outright. In some states, insurance companies are not allowed to cut off your insurance mid-plan, so check to see if you can finish out your 6 month or 1 year policy.
If they do allow you to keep your insurance you will get a flag on your name as a “high risk driver.” However, if they do allow you to keep the policy then they can supply Florida’s motor vehicles department with an SR-22 Proof of Insurance Certificate that will state you are insured and your license can be returned to you. Otherwise, your license will remain revoked.
Read about the other effects of being convicted of a Florida DUI.
This isn’t to say that you will never be insurable again. It is just that the preferred insurance companies likely will not insure you. You will need to find a smaller insurance company or an independent agent who works with a cache of companies.
A Florida DUI conviction will stay on your record for 75 years! In order to avoid the high insurance rates, fines, and stigma that comes with a Florida DUI record, contact a Miami DUI defense attorney before you plead guilty to your charges!
Contacting a Miami DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami DUI defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.