It’s a game of numbers when it comes to being convicted of marijuana possession in Florida. Drug possession charges vary depending on how much of the substance you are found with, and even if it is in processed or in plant form.
A conviction for marijuana possession of less than 20 grams is a 1st degree misdemeanor. This means your drug possession charges can reach a maximum of 1 year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
Marijuana possession of more than 20 grams increases the drug possession charges to a 3rd degree felony. This may result in up to 5 years in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. Possessing marijuana plants can also result in felony charges, as they would be considered more than 20 grams in most cases.
It is important to consult with a Miami drug lawyer immediately after being arrested on drug possession charges. Because the amount of the substance plays such a vital role in your marijuana charges, it’s important to have a lawyer to help make sure you receive the appropriate classification of criminal charges.
If there is a discrepancy in how much marijuana you had, it could mean an unfair difference between a misdemeanor and a felony charge. To avoid facing undue penalties, your Miami drug lawyer can be of great help.
To best improve your chances at avoiding conviction or obtaining a reduced sentence, it’s important to work with a Miami drug lawyer as soon as possible. The quicker you involve a lawyer in your case, the better your results can be.
Contacting a Miami Drug Lawyer
You are entitled to know all your legal rights before being prosecuted for any suspected criminal activity – including your right to legal representation. If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami drug lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.