I committed a misdemeanor in Florida. What kind of sentence should I expect?

If you have committed a misdemeanor in Florida, you can expect to be sentenced in County Court by a Florida County Court Judge. A misdemeanor in Florida is the lowest level of crime that anyone can commit. The maximum punishment for this is 1 year in county jail

Misdemeanors in Florida include crimes such as: 

  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol;
  • DWL (driving with a suspended license);
  • Simple battery;
  • Simple assault; and
  • Petty theft. 

If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in Florida, you can fight the charge with the professional help of a Miami criminal defense attorney. 

The Types of Misdemeanors in Florida  

In Florida, there are 2 different types of misdemeanors. These are: 

  • First degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by no more than 1 year in jail; and
  • Second degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by no more than 60 days in jail

Many people are under the false impression that a misdemeanor is “no big deal.” However, taking your charge lightly can lead to serious penalties. A misdemeanor in Florida can result in fines, driver’s license suspensions, a permanent criminal record, or even time in jail. To protect your rights and reduce the chances of incurring severe penalties, you should get the help of a Miami criminal defense attorney. 

Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Attorney 

If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.