If you have been convicted of a second Florida DUI more than 5 years after your first DUI conviction, you will have to complete your revocation period before you can reinstate your driver’s license.
For a second DUI in Florida within 5 years of your first conviction, this revocation period will be for a minimum of 5 years. Obtaining a hardship license is different than reinstating your driver’s license and may be possible after the first year of your license revocation under these circumstances.
If you have completed the revocation period, and you want to reinstate your license, you will have to show the court proof of enrollment in the required DUI school. You will also have to have enrolled in any treatment that was ordered by the court.
To reinstate your license, you will also have to take a required examination. Furthermore, you will have to pay an administrative fee, a revocation reinstatement fee, and any required license fees.
If you do reinstate your driver’s license after a second Florida DUI, but fail to complete the required DUI school or treatment within 90 days, your license will be cancelled altogether. This cancellation will remain until you complete the required DUI school and treatment.
If you have questions regarding the reinstatement of your license after a Florida DUI, you can get the advice of a Miami DUI defense attorney. If you want to avoid revocation altogether, a Miami DUI defense attorney may be able to help you fight your DUI charges in court.
To learn more about penalties for a second DUI conviction in Florida, please visit our article library.
Contacting a Miami DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami DUI defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.