The passing of a bad check in Florida is known as a “white collar crime” and is considered a 1st degree misdemeanor for transactions under $150. If your bad check in Florida is more than $150 or multiple checks totaling more than $150 the charges increase to a 3rd degree felony. A Miami criminal defense attorney can help explain the charges against you and how you can attempt to reduce or drop them.
Not all instances of writing a bad check in Florida are due to malicious intent. You may have made a calculation error due to stress or being hurried. Even if you did knowingly write a bad check in Florida, if this was a minor or first offense your Miami criminal defense attorney may be able to have the charges against you dropped or the sentence reduced.
The penalties for passing a bad check in Florida are a potential jail sentence of 1 year and fines up to $1,000 for a check or checks under $150. For amounts more than $150 the 3rd degree felony carries a potential 15 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
As you can see the penalties for writing a bad check in Florida are serious. This is why having a Miami criminal defense attorney on your side is so important to avoiding the maximum punishment for this conviction. Your attorney may make the difference between the maximum penalties and a reduced sentence. In some cases, your charges may even be dropped with the experienced help of a Miami criminal defense attorney.
Florida criminal defense cases are taken very seriously. Don’t leave your future solely in the hands of the court. The Miami criminal defense attorneys at Falk & Ross Law Firm know the importance of a solid defense in your case and we will fight for your rights every step of the way. Contact us today – 1-877-663-5110.