Florida’s Move Over Law is a part of the Florida statutes that regulates the behavior of drivers when approaching or being approached by an emergency vehicle. These laws allow emergency vehicles to quickly and safely respond to their calls when other drivers comply with the regulations.
Violations of Florida’s Move Over Law are classified as a noncriminal traffic infraction and may result in a citation to appear in court. The penalties for the violation will vary from incident to incident and a Miami traffic attorney may be helpful in getting these charges dismissed or reduced.
The Basics of Florida’s Move Over Law
The basic traffic laws regarding emergency vehicles displaying their visual signals call for drivers to give right-of-way to those vehicles. Florida’s Move Over Law focuses on the required behavior of drivers when they approach a stopped emergency vehicle displaying visual signals or a wrecker displaying its amber rotating/flashing lights.
When you approach a stopped emergency vehicle or wrecker with obvious visual signals displayed, you must do 1 of 2 things to comply with Florida’s Move Over Law:
- vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle or wrecker except when otherwise directed by law enforcement; or
- slow down to 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit when movement from the closest lane is not possible.
If you cannot comply with either of these measures, you may be cited as violating Florida’s Move Over Law. Unless you can prove on your own that the violation was done only because of safety regards and not negligence of the law, you will need the help of a Miami traffic attorney to help fight your charges.
Penalties for Violations of Florida’s Move Over Law
The penalties for violating Florida’s Move Over Law are outlined in the Florida statutes as a noncriminal traffic infraction. As with all violations of this type, you are issued a citation and are required to appear before a court official. If you fail to submit to the terms of the citation, you may be subject to further penalties.
After the citation is issued, you will have 30 days to pay the civil penalty and delinquent fee if you elect not to appear in court. The civil penalty will not exceed $500. In addition to the penalty, you may also be sentenced to 120 hours of community service if a death results from your violation of Florida’s Move Over Law. You can speak to an experienced Miami traffic attorney who can explain your options for fighting this citation.
Contacting a Miami Traffic Attorney
You have the right to a Miami traffic attorney during the proceedings following your charges of traffic violations in Florida. If you are facing a traffic citation in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami traffic attorney team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.