The penalties for prostitution and solicitation vary depending on the specific crime that is being alleged; prostitution activity, for instance, can range from a second degree misdemeanor to a first degree felony.
First time offenders will usually be charged with a second degree misdemeanor, and the penalties can include up to 60 days in jail, 6 months of probation, and up to $500 in fines.
A second-time offender will likely be charged with a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 365 days in jail, 12 months of probation, and $1,000 in fines.
If someone offends a third time, in all likelihood, he or she will be charged with a third degree felony, unless the circumstances are more serious and the charges are increased.
The judge may impose any combination of the following:
- 5 years in prison;
- 5 years of probation; and
- $5,000 in fines.
Ultimately, however, what you are charged with will depend on the severity of the allegations against you. If you’re being accused of owning or operating a prostitution ring, it’s unlikely that you will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, even if you are a first-time offender. It’s best if you speak with a Florida defense attorney who has handled prostitution and solicitation cases before.
Contacting a Florida Defense Attorney
If you are facing criminal charges for engaging or soliciting prostitution, your legal team is your best defense. The defense team you choose to represent you in court, defend your rights, and relentlessly pursue your case could be the difference between jail time and getting on with your life. Contact a Florida defense attorney team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.