After a an arrest for DUI in Florida, your license may be automatically suspended by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) if you refuse to take a breath, blood or urine test or your blood alcohol content (BAC) reading is over the legal limit. In order to fight your administrative suspension, you only have 10 days to submit a hearing request to the DHSMV after your drunk-driving arrest.
To request an administrative license hearing, you must include the following in your appeal:
- a written hearing request;
- your name, address, date of birth, and license number; and
- details regarding the suspension date and the jurisdiction in which the suspension was ordered.
In addition, you must ensure that the request is postmarked or filed with the court clerk before the 10-day deadline. If you decide to mail your hearing request, sending it via certified mail is strongly recommended. You should also speak with a South Florida DUI attorney for help preserving your rights.
Contact a South Florida DUI Attorney
Dealing with an administrative license hearing after a DUI in Florida can be a cumbersome process; therefore, hiring a DUI attorney is recommended. Your attorney can ensure that the hearing request is submitted properly and represent you at the hearing. For a free consultation on your case, please contact The Falk & Ross Law Firm today at 877-663-5110 or 305-741-6997.