Florida’s SunPass Prepaid Toll Program allows you to pay tolls on Florida highways without having to stop your vehicle. It pays your tolls through a transponder device, which is linked to a prepaid account. However, a malfunction of this device or other mistakes may lead to SunPass violations and hefty penalties.
If you have been charged with a Florida SunPass violation, you should contact an experienced Miami traffic lawyer to learn more about how to fight your ticket.
SunPass Violation Penalties
According to the Florida’s SunPass program, the SunPass Violations Enforcement System was created to pursue violators on Florida’s toll roads. In doing so, they will uphold Florida State Law (Statute 316.1001), which requires payment of prescribed tolls for the use of certain roads.
A failure to comply with this law may result in:
- a $100 or more civil penalty;
- 3 points assessed to your driver’s license (which may result in higher insurance rates);
- suspension of your vehicle registration; and/or
- suspension of your driver’s license.
How SunPass Violations Can Occur
If you have been charged with a Florida SunPass violation because of an unpaid toll, it may mean that:
- your SunPass account does not have the correct license plate information;
- your transponder device is not mounted correctly, or it is not mounted at all, which will result in a disruption of the wireless signal; or
- the batteries in your device have died.
To resolve these matters, the Florida SunPass program recommends that you contact a SunPass Violations Representative by telephone. When you call, you should have your PIN number, your transponder number, your violation document, and your vehicle tag number ready.
Multiple citations of SunPass violations may also have you labeled as a habitual offender, which may result in your license being suspended for up to 5 years. If you have been wrongfully charged with a Florida SunPass violation, you should talk to a Miami traffic lawyer about fighting your charge.
Continue to Next Page >>