Florida driving laws prevent underage driving in Florida by not allowing minors under the age of 15 to operate a vehicle without a proper permit or license. When your child is unfairly cited for this type of violation, you should speak with your Miami traffic violations lawyer.
Charges for underage driving in Florida apply for all minors under the age of 18. The Florida statutes state that no person shall knowingly permit a child to drive a vehicle when they’re not licensed to do so. This means that not only is your child’s criminal record in jeopardy, but also your own record.
Child’s Consequences of Underage Driving
An unlicensed, underage driver who’s caught operating a motor vehicle on a Florida road can face 2nd degree misdemeanor charges. If you don’t consult with a Miami traffic violations lawyer your child could be facing the maximum penalties of up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. Second offenses raise these charges up to a year in jail and $1,000 in fines.
A third offense of underage driving in Florida turns into a 3rd degree felony charge with up to 5 years in prison and $5,000 in fines. These charges aren’t definite and are levied on the discretion of a judge, meaning your Miami traffic violations lawyer may be able to help you negotiate a lesser penalty or charge.
If your child doesn’t comply with the penalties levied upon them by the court sentence they can seriously jeopardize their future driving privileges. This criminal offense goes on their record and will be brought up once they attempt to get a proper license.
Your Miami traffic violations lawyer will work to avoid as many penalties as possible so that your child has a better chance at obtaining their license once they’re of age. The circumstances of why your child was driving unlicensed while underage are important to pleading for a lower sentence and less penalties on their record.
Parent’s Responsibility for Child’s Underage Driving
If it’s found that you knowingly allowed your underage child to drive a vehicle you could be facing:
- a misdemeanor or felony charge;
- jail time; and
- fines, the same as your child will face.
If your child is arrested for underage driving in Florida you’ll be notified and could be arrested. Your right to a Miami traffic violations lawyer should be exercised at this time to make sure you’re being fairly treated through the prosecution process.
There’s a chance that your own driving license could be compromised for your child’s underage driving violation. Traffic violation lawyers understand how the system works and can help you work toward avoiding these extreme penalties and charges.