A DUI in Florida can turn your life upside down. If you are convicted, the fees and penalties that result will affect you for years to come. The best way to lessen the consequences is with the help of an experienced Miami DUI defense lawyer. An experienced Florida DUI attorney will know how to build a winning DUI defense, and may be able to have your charge dismissed altogether.
For a first offense, you will face a fine of up to $500. Additionally, you’ll be required to pay various court costs and administrative fees. If you want to drive again after a DUI in Florida, you will also have to pay a license revocation reinstatement fee.
A first DUI offense may also result in a maximum 6 month jail sentence, as well as a revocation of your driver’s license for a maximum of 1 year. If your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) registers greater than .20, then your fines and jail time can increase significantly. You may also may be forced to pay for and install an ignition interlock system installed inside your car(s).
Other penalties for a DUI in Florida include probation, community service, impoundment of your vehicle, and a mandatory DUI program.
There are more severe penalties for DUI’s that cause injuries or deaths.
If you have recently been charged with a DUI in Florida, you are not automatically guilty and should always discuss your case with an experienced Miami DUI defense attorney. To learn more about Florida’s DUI laws and what penalties you may face, you can visit our article Florida’s DUI Penalties – First DUI Offense.
The penalties for DUI in Florida are severe. Don’t leave your future solely in the hands of the court. The Miami DUI defense attorneys at Falk & Ross Law Firm know the importance of a solid defense in your drunk driving case and we will fight for your rights every step of the way. Contact us today – 1-877-663-5110.