What does it mean to be accused of petit theft in Florida?

Petit theft in Florida is defined by Florida statute 812.014, which identifies the crime as the intentional and knowing attempt or completion of the act to deprive someone of their property or the benefits of their property, or the attempt or completion of the act of appropriating that which is not their own for their use. If you’ve been arrested for a Florida theft charge, seek help from a Fort Lauderdale criminal defense lawyer

Specifically, petit theft inFloridais the taking or attempt to take property that is worth more than $100 but less than $300. It’s a first-degree misdemeanor by Florida law, and if convicted, you may be punished with up to a year in jail. 

Anything less than $100 is usually considered retail theft, and anything more than $300 is considered grand theft and is classified as a third-degree felony. The punishment for grand theft can be up to 5 years in prison. 

In addition to petit theft inFlorida, if you are caught attempting to sell any property that you stole, you will be charged under statute 812.019 for dealing in stolen property, which is a felony. 

If you face prosecution for a Florida theft charge, a Fort Lauderdale criminal defense lawyer can defend your rights in court. The State has the burden to prove that you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, and should it fail to meet that obligation, your charges may be dismissed. Trust your case to an attorney dedicated to holding the prosecution to its task and aggressively pursuing your case. 

Contact a Fort Lauderdale Criminal Defense Lawyer 

If you are facing a Floridatheft charge, your legal team is your best defense. The lawyer you choose to represent you in court, defend your rights, and relentlessly pursue your case could be the difference between jail time and getting on with your life. Contact the criminal defense team at Falk & Ross for a no-cost evaluation of your case – 1-877-663-5110.