What happens if I am accused of a criminal offense in Florida while wearing a bulletproof vest?

If you have been accused of a criminal offense in Florida while wearing a bulletproof vest, then you may face further criminal charges for possession of the bulletproof vest. 

According to Florida statutes, a bulletproof vest is a: 

“ … bullet-resistant soft body armor … which shall mean at least 7 layers of bullet-resistant material providing protection from 3 shots of 158-grain lead ammunition fired from a .38 caliber handgun at a velocity of 850 feet per second.” 

Florida statutes go on to say that no person may possess a bulletproof vest while committing, or attempting to commit: 

  • murder;
  • sexual battery;
  • robbery;
  • burglary;
  • arson;
  • aggravated assault;
  • aggravated battery;
  • kidnapping;
  • escape;
  • breaking and entering (with intent to commit a felony);
  • a criminal gang-related offense (under chapter 874);
  • a controlled substance offense (under chapter 893); or
  • aircraft piracy. 

A violation of these laws may result in a third degree felony conviction. A conviction of a third degree felony is punishable by up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation and a $5,000 fine. 

If you have been charged with possession of a bulletproof vest while committing (or attempting to commit) a crime in Florida, then you should get the legal help of a Miami criminal defense lawyer

A Miami criminal defense lawyer can investigate your alleged possession of a bulletproof vest in Florida. If the charge cannot be substantiated or if there is some discrepancy with the evidence that was gathered, then you may be able to avoid a serious criminal conviction. 

Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer 

If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.