In Florida, if you are charged with driving with a suspended license, you will face penalties including a fine, time in jail, and a permanent criminal record. However, under a new diversion program, you may be able to avoid these penalties by choosing Option 1.
Beginning June 1, 2010, the Florida legislature has offered Option 1 to anyone caught driving with a suspended license. Under the program, violators have the option to attend a 4-hour driver improvement course, and pay a $150 fine. Once these steps are successfully completed, you will avoid paying the extra penalties and fines.
As of now, you can choose Florida’s Option 1 no matter how many times you have been charged with driving with a suspended license. However, the program is new, and the rules may change if the legislature chooses to do so. If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license in Florida, and you have questions about your eligibility for choosing Florida’s Option 1, you can contact a Miami traffic defense attorney.
However, if you don’t want to choose Florida’s Option 1, and would prefer to fight your criminal charge, a Miami traffic defense attorney can explain your legal options for fighting the charge in court.
If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license in Florida, you may face serious criminal charges. You can learn more about the consequences of driving with a suspended or revoked license in Florida by visiting our article library.
Contacting a Miami Traffic Defense Attorney
If you are facing a serious traffic violation in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami traffic defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.