A juvenile charge for DUI in the state of Florida is a serious one. Florida has a zero-tolerance law for underage drinkers. This is why you need to find a reputable law firm that specializes in criminal defense in Fort Lauderdale to help fight these charges before they become a permanent part of your or your child’s driving record.
Drinking and Driving When Under 21
The laws in Florida expect anyone under the legal drinking age of 21 not to drink and drive. This explains the state’s zero-tolerance law, which charges drivers aged 20 years or younger with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 or higher with a DUI.
It is nearly impossible for anyone to have a single drink and not register a BAC of .02. For a driver younger than 21, just one alcoholic beverage and a stop by law enforcement means having your license immediately suspended. This suspension could last for at least 6 months.
If a BAC of .05 or higher is evident in an underage drinker and driver, the law allows for a suspension of this driver until a substance abuse evaluation is completed, along with a course covering similar material.
Other possible penalties that could accompany a juvenile charge for DUI include:
- a minimum fine of $500;
- 50 hours of community service;
- probation for up to a year;
- successful completion of 12 hours of DUI school; and
- imprisonment for up to 6 months.
Beyond Legal Repercussions
Besides the penalties that come with a juvenile charge for DUI, there are other aspects of your life that could be affected adversely because of underage drinking and driving.
A DUI charge takes a considerable amount of time to handle. From meetings with lawyers and court appearances to attending DUI school and seeing your probation officer, a DUI conviction will limit your commitments.
This could mean having to miss a semester or more of university classes or being unable to hold down a job. It could also affect future job prospects.
For example, a record of DUI may skew the perceptions of a future employer. Background checks are commonly required and easily obtainable. A DUI conviction may prohibit even an interested company from hiring you. A marred driving record may give them second thoughts about bringing you aboard.
The best defense is a good offense — don’t drink and drive. If you already face juvenile charges for DUI, then you need to hire a reputable law firm with experience in DUI defense.
The Right Law Firm for Criminal Defense in Fort Lauderdale
The law firm of Falk & Ross aggressively fights for the rights of the accused by providing strong criminal defense in Fort Lauderdale. Whether it’s a juvenile charge for DUI or a multiple DUI offense for an adult, our attorneys will demand you are treated fairly and justly under the laws of Florida. Give us a call today for a free consultation on your case. We can be reached at 1-877-663-5110 or 1-305-741-6997.