During the summer months when school is out of session and many teens find themselves no longer having to go to bed “because it’s a school night” the subject of Florida curfew can become an issue. The Florida statutes prohibit minors from certain public establishments between certain hours and if they’re caught they can face penalties. Juvenile defense attorneys in Miami Beach can help if your minor child violates these curfew laws.
Statutes for Florida Curfew Laws
The Florida statutes section 877.22 outlines the basics of the Florida curfew laws. These laws consider a minor to be anyone under the age of 16 and restrict their presence in public places or establishments as follows:
- between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. Sunday through Thursday;
- between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on Saturday, Sunday, and legal holidays; and
- between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. if the minor was expelled or suspended from school and it’s a school day.
Therefore, if your teen is out on a Friday night past midnight in a public establishment, such as a park, they may be taken into custody by a police officer. Juvenile defense attorneys in Miami Beach are familiar with this situation and can give your family the advice and help you need to save your child’s juvenile record.
Remember that each county and city can adopt their own specific curfew laws as long as they’re constitutionally sound. There’s also some exemptions from these laws, such as if the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian, or if they’re going to/from work, school, or religious event.
Penalties for Curfew Violations in Florida
If this is your child’s first curfew violation the officer will normally give them a written warning that’s recorded in their juvenile record. As long as there were no other criminal charges involved, this is usually the end of the situation. Since this written warning does go on file, if your child is again caught violating curfew, they may be taken into custody.
Secondary curfew violations are considered civil infractions and come with a $50 fine per violation. Upon being taken into custody, your child will be transported to a police station or curfew program center. Attempts will be made to contact their parents and release them into their custody. If this is unsuccessful within 2 hours, or if the parents refuse to take custody, the minor is transported to their residence.
These penalties can increase depending on what your child was doing when they were caught violating Florida curfew. Vandalism, burglary, and other types of criminal mischief are all commonly associated violations seen in curfew cases. Aside from the civil infraction, they may face misdemeanor or felony charges depending on the severity of the other criminal events.
Your Legal Rights as a Parent When Your Child Violates Curfew
Your minor child’s actions can impact your own life if you’re not careful with how you handle your case. Experienced juvenile defense attorneys in Miami Beach work with the entire family to make sure your legal rights are protected if your child faces criminal charges.
You’ll be notified by police if your child is charged with a curfew violation and it’s your responsibility to take custody of them after the police have finished recording the incident. After this, you should contact juvenile defense attorneys in Miami Beach to discuss the potential impact this has on your child’s juvenile record.
A juvenile record can be detrimental to your child’s future if they don’t take care to have it sealed or expunged. While curfew violations are only civil infractions and small fines, they do appear on this record and have the potential to jeopardize your child’s future. To make sure your child’s juvenile records are properly removed when they become adults, juvenile defense attorneys in Miami Beach can help.
Contacting Experienced Juvenile Defense Attorneys in Miami Beach
Juvenile defense attorneys in Miami Beach focus on defending your child’s rights and helping them understand the consequences of a juvenile criminal record. If your child is facing criminal charges in Miami Beach, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the juvenile defense attorneys in Miami Beach at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.