A moving violation in Florida can constitute a variety of different infractions, and how you will be dealt with and what penalties you can expect is largely dependent on what you have been charged with. While non-moving violations sometimes carry few to no points and small fines, moving violations not only have steeper fines associated, but also assess points against your license that could be used to strip your driving privileges if you accumulate too many. Speak with an attorney at a Broward traffic defense law firm about your best options moving forward after a moving violation.
How a Moving Violation in Florida Affects You
More stressful to most drivers than the financial fees associated, the accumulation of points after a moving violation inFloridacan constitute a suspension of driving privileges.
For instance, if you receive 12 points against your license in a 12-month period, your license will be suspended for a period of 30 days. If you receive 18 points against your license in an 18-month period, your license will subsequently be revoked for a 3-month period. Finally, if 24 points are assessed against your driver’s license in a 24-month period, you will lose your driving privileges for a year.
Additionally, regular traffic violations, particularly those that are considered major moving violations – offenses for which more than 4 points are assessed for a single infraction – can prompt the court to take action against your driver’s license.
If you have been charged with a moving violation in Florida, contact a lawyer at a Broward traffic defense law firm. The state has an obligation to treat you fairly under the law and meet the burden of proof set forth by Florida state statute. A lawyer will defend your rights and demand the State meet its burden of proof or drop your charges.
Although a moving violation in Florida probably won’t put you at the top of the Most Wanted list, repeated infractions can jeopardize your driving privileges, which could negatively impact the way you live your life. If you are facing charges for a moving violation that will assess points to your license, or any other traffic-related offenses, speak with a lawyer from a Broward traffic defense law firm.
Certain offenses automatically apply 6 points against your license. Some of the most serious moving violations in Florida carry automatic license suspension requirements, and some can even constitute jail time. Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Driving While Impaired (DWI), a hit-and-run accident (or leaving the scene of an accident with damage of at least $50), speed violations that result in collisions, and intoxication manslaughter are all such violations.
For minors, the laws in Florida on moving violations are very strict. If a driver under the age of 18 accrues 6 points in a 12-month period, then his or her license will be restricted to “business purposes only” for 12 months. If a minor is assessed more than 6 points in a 12-month period, an additional 3 months will be added to this limitation.
It’s important to point out thatFloridalicense points are accrued no matter where the infraction occurs. A traffic violation out of state will still earn you the appropriate number of points against your driver’s license.
If you’ve been accused of a moving violation inFlorida, the worst thing you can do is nothing. An attorney may be able to prevent points from being assessed against your license or have your charges dropped altogether. Speak with a lawyer at a Broward traffic defense law firm about your case today.
Get Legal Help from a Broward Traffic Defense Law Firm
The cost of a lawyer from a Broward traffic defense law firm can be far less than the cost of your reckless driving ticket. Our firm offers a free consultation, so you have the chance to learn more about us and our practice before retaining our services. We can also tell you exactly what you’ll be charged ahead of time and give you an honest opinion about the potential challenges of your case.
Never hire an attorney who promises a positive outcome as no lawyer can guarantee how your case will be resolved.
If you have recently been cited for a moving violation in Florida, contact us today at 1-877-663-5110 to schedule your no-cost, no-obligation consultation.