If a Florida sex offender has a released status, then there are generally no restrictions on where they are permitted to live. It’s important to note that according to Florida statutes, certain individuals who have been convicted of a violation of s. 794.011, s. 800.04, s. 827.071 or s. 847.0145, where the victim of the offense was less than 16 years of age, may not be permitted to live within 1,000 feet of certain locations.
These locations include:
- day care centers;
- parks; and
In addition to these restrictions, there may be municipal and/or county ordinances regarding Florida sex offenders in the area where you live. To find out about these ordinances, you can contact your local Sheriff’s Office or Police Department.
Furthermore, if you are a Florida sex offender and still serving probation or parole, then you may be subject to Conditions of Probation that have been ordered by the court.
If you have been convicted as a Florida sex offender and are charged with a violation of your sentence, you may face new criminal charges. This can lead to new fines, jail time and new charges on your criminal record. To defend yourself against such a violation, you can get the legal help of a Miami criminal defense lawyer.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are facing criminal charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.