If you have been charged with a second Florida DUI, then yes, you may incur increased penalties if you are convicted. This is especially true concerning your driving privileges. You can, however, fight your Florida DUI charges and possibly avoid these serious penalties with the help of an experienced Miami DUI defense attorney.
Loss of Driving Privileges After a Second Florida DUI
After your first Florida DUI conviction, you will face a minimum of a 180-day driver’s license revocation, and a maximum 1-year revocation.
As part of a second Florida DUI conviction, you will face:
- A minimum of a 180-day driver’s license revocation, and a maximum 1-year revocation, if your second offense did not occur within 5 years of your first offense. In this case, you may not obtain a hardship license.
- A minimum of a 5-year driver’s license revocation, if your second offense did occur within 5 years of your first offense. In this case, you may obtain a hardship license after the first year.
To reinstate your license after your second Florida DUI, or to fight your second Florida DUI charge, you can get the professional help of a Florida DUI defense attorney.
Contacting a Miami DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami DUI defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.