If you are convicted of a third Florida DUI, you may face jail time. This will depend on the timing of your previous DUI conviction and the specifics of your current Florida DUI charge.
If your third Florida DUI conviction comes within 10 years of your previous conviction, you will face a mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days. In this case, 48 hours of these 30 days must be served consecutively.
If your third Florida DUI conviction comes at least 10 years after your previous DUI conviction, you will face a jail sentence of up to 1 year, with no mandatory minimum.
Besides facing jail time after a third Florida DUI, you will face penalties that include fines, a revocation of your driver’s license, and a permanent criminal record. Furthermore, your vehicle may be impounded, and you will have to complete DUI school, as well as any treatment required by the court.
However, with the help of a Miami DUI defense attorney, you may be able to avoid these penalties by fighting your Florida DUI charges. You can learn more about being charged with a third Florida DUI, by visiting our article library.
Contacting a Miami DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami DUI defense attorney team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – (877) 663-5110.