Boating under the influence in Florida is a serious violation and carries with it steep penalties. If you’ve been charged with an alcohol-related offense while operating a vessel, speak with a team of Miami defense lawyers who will fight to defend your rights.
Boating Under the Influence in Florida: Fines, Jail Time, Probation & More
A first BUI offense could get you up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines, but if you are operating a boat while under the influence and you cause an accident in which someone is seriously injured, you may face up to 5 years in jail and $5,000 in fines, plus any additional court costs.
You may also be placed on probation, required to take substance abuse classes, have your boat impounded or have to commit to community service. It’s important to note that you can be charged with boating under the influence whether you’re operating a water vessel of any kind – even a jet ski.
Arrests for boating under the influence in Floridahave been increasing, but know your rights: it’s not illegal to drink alcohol and operate a boat. It’s against Florida law to operate a vessel while you’re impaired by alcohol or other substances, so it’s the obligation of the State to prove that you were impaired.
Contacting a Team of Miami Defense Lawyers
If you are facing charges for boating under the influence in Florida, your legal team is your best defense. The attorneys you choose to represent you in court, defend your rights, and relentlessly pursue your case could be the difference between jail time and getting on with your life. Contact one of our Miami Defense lawyers at Falk & Ross for a no-cost evaluation of your case – 1-877-663-5110.