The main penalty possible when convicted of possessing drug paraphernalia in Florida is a first degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to a year in prison and a fine of $1,000. Facing a drug charge in Florida is serious. A FL criminal lawyer can fight to get your charges reduced so it’s highly advisable to contact one as soon as you are arrested.
Manufacturing, delivering, or transporting any kind of drug paraphernalia, on the other hand, is a third degree felony, which is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Delivering drug paraphernalia into a minor’s possession carries the most severe punishment. Because giving drug paraphernalia to a minor is a second degree felony, the maximum punishment is 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
In addition, advertising drug paraphernalia in any way via any medium is considered a first degree misdemeanor, and is also punishable by up to a year imprisoned and a $1,000 fine.
In many cases, particularly for first offenses, it may be possible to have your drug charge in Floridareduced or your sentence minimized by an attorney who has experience in representing cases like yours. Whatever the circumstances, only an attorney can protect your rights and ensure that you are treated and tried fairly by the legal system, so speak to one as soon as you are able.
Don’t plead guilty to a Florida drug possession charge before speaking with a lawyer and exploring all of your defense options. You do not want to live with a criminal conviction on your record if you can avoid it, and in many cases you can.
Contacting a FL Criminal Lawyer
If you are facing a drug charge in Florida, your legal team is your best defense. The defense team you choose to represent you in court, defend your rights, and relentlessly pursue your case could be the difference between jail time and getting on with your life. Contact the FL criminal lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 1-877-663-5110.