There are several instances in which a juvenile may be charged as an adult in Florida.
According to Florida statutes, a juvenile may be charged as an adult in Florida if the child is 14 years old or older, and has already been adjudicated for a felony charge of:
- sexual battery;
- armed or strong-armed robbery;
- aggravated battery or aggravated assault;
- certain types of burglary; or
- the child is currently charged with a second or subsequent violent crime against another person.
Furthermore, a child may be charged as an adult if the child was 14 years old or older at the time of committing a fourth or subsequent alleged felony offense, and previously the child was adjudicated, or had adjudication withheld for or was found to commit 3 felony offenses, and one or more of those felony offenses involved the use or possession of a firearm or violence against another person.
If you or a loved one is a juvenile being charged as an adult in Florida, you should get the professional help of a Miami criminal defense lawyer. With the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer, you may be able to beat or reduce your charges.
Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer
If your child is a minor being charged as an adult in Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense lawyer team at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – (877) 663-5110.