Reinstating Your License After a Second Florida DUI Offense
Once your revocation period ends after your second Florida DUI offense, you may be able to reinstate your license. To do so, you will have to show proof of enrollment or completion of DUI school, as well as proof of enrollment or completion of any required treatment.
A failure to complete the DUI school, or any required treatment, within 90 days after having your license reinstated will lead to a cancellation of your driver’s license. This cancellation will remain in effect until you complete the required course and treatment.
When reinstating your driver’s license, you will be required to:
- Take an examination;
- Pay an administrative fee;
- Pay a revocation reinstatement fee; and
- Pay any required license fee.
Furthermore, if your second Florida DUI offense occurred after October 1, 2007, you will be required to provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage liability insurance.
What other penalties will I face for a second DUI offense in Florida?
As you would in a first DUI offense, for a second Florida DUI offense you will face penalties such as fines, a driver’s license suspension, and the possibility of time in jail. A DUI conviction can also leave you with a permanent criminal record. This can affect any job opportunities that you may have in your future.
To avoid serious penalties after a Florida DUI, you can fight your charge with the professional help of a Miami DUI defense attorney.
How can a Miami DUI defense attorney help me?
If you have been charged with a Florida DUI, a Miami DUI defense attorney can help you fight these charges in court. This may include challenging the police procedures that led to your DUI arrest, or challenging the accuracy of your BAC tests. To find out what defenses may be available under your specific circumstances, contact an experienced Miami DUI defense attorney.
Contacting a Miami DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami DUI defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.